We use cookies on this site, but we don't capture any personal information. View cookie options.

What happens if you decline cookies?

Like most people, I use Google Analytics to see how my web site is used, but this doesn't capture any personal information about you, and I certainly don't gather data about you in any other way without telling you. There's no hidden market intelligence stuff on the site. But you can decline cookies if you really want to, and I'll suppress Google Analytics.

Please state your preference below.
(Clicking 'Accept cookies' gets rid of that annoying top bar.)

My site also uses essential cookies, which are permitted under UK law. You can override them in your browser settings, but the site probably won't work properly if you do.
For more information, see my Privacy policy page.

Current status:

Accept cookies     Decline cookies      Reset     Close

Compelling mystery novels that you can’t put down


Not Exactly True – click for more information

Substance or illusion?

Journalist Mike Stanhope has been accused of libel – and he’s determined to clear his name. Worryingly, new evidence seems to undermine his case. But is it real, or an elaborate deception? 

Trish wants to help ... or does she? Mike is drawn to her, but how will this affect his faltering relationship with his girlfriend?

What starts as a tale of chicanery in the truck building world soon escalates to a much bigger and older mystery involving murder, a cover-up ... and something even worse.

Not Exactly True, the brand new story in the Mike Stanhope series, is as intricate and involving as its five predecessors, and like every book, it works equally well as a stand-alone.




The Mike Stanhope series

Click book cover to learn more. Click link underneath cover to read first ten chapters on this page.

Alternative Outcome: Mike Stanhope 1
Deficit of Diligence: Mike Stanhope 2
Denial of Credit: Mike Stanhope 3
The Concrete Ceiling: Mike Stanhope 4
Now or Not at All: Mike Stanhope 5
Not Exactly True: Mike Stanhope 6


Stand-alone mystery thriller by Peter Rowlands, writing as Anders Teller:
Never Going to Happen by Anders Teller (a.k.a. Peter Rowlands)


What readers are saying about Peter Rowlands’ mysteries

“Enjoyable, multi-layered story …”

“Have you ever read a book you hoped would never end? This was it!”

“Beautifully written, with an intriguing romantic twist …”

“A great representation of the quality of work that is sometimes overlooked or ignored by the publishing world.”

“A fast-paced mind-bending intellectual thriller.”

“This isn’t your typical mystery book where you get all of the answers at the end. There are a number of mysteries going on at the same time It works really well and makes you keep reading …”

“It had all the right elements – mystery, suspense, and romance.” 


Mike Stanhope

“Rowlands is doing a great job of developing a likeable character in writer Mike Stanhope.”

“He’s just an ordinary man who gets into difficult situations. He isn’t perfect; he makes mistakes. He’s authentic, believable and realistic.” 

“He ends up getting things done with his persistence.” 

“He’s just a normal guy who tenaciously asks questions until he gets to the bottom of a mystery, often with some dire consequences" 

“I loved the main character. He’s like someone I might know first hand. I agree with another reader’s sentiments, that he’s not a navy seal, an FBI agent or an expert in kick boxing. He’s normal and human.”


Stranger than fiction!

Scottish cycle holiday, 1943

popup|The Highland route taken by the two women

Two young women set off from Crieff at the height of the war to tackle the Highlands on bicycles. How did their plan work out? You can find out by reading their diary on this website. It brims with warmth and immediacy, and brings to life an almost forgotten aspect of that increasingly distant time.

Click here to find out more about the Scottish diary »



Displaying:  Escape Sequence


Viewing title page


Escape Sequence is available on a limited basis.

Click here
for details.


Escape Sequence 

A mystery drama 

by Peter Rowlands



This is a work of fiction. Any resemblance to real
people, living or dead, is purely coincidental.
Certain real organisations and locations are mentioned, but
all events and activities relating to them are entirely fictitious.


Peter Rowlands has asserted his right under the
Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988
to be identified as the author of this work


© Peter Rowlands 2015. All rights reserved. 


Go to first chapter »

Select another title to read »


© Peter Rowlands 2023



Peter Rowlands on Facebook Peter Rowlands on Twitter

About me

Contact me




Reset cookies


© Peter Rowlands 2023





Peter Rowlands on Facebook Peter Rowlands on Twitter


About me

Contact me





Reset cookies